Blog Banner

WRU Regional Championships 2005-2006 Fixtures Announced

16th August 2005


Blues u20 & u18 will both kick off their new season against Dragons when the Championship begins in September.

Cardiff Blues will once again field two teams at u16 (North & South) as well as competing at under-18 and under-20 through the established regional Academy structure.

The full fixtures, venues, and kick off times for all U16, 18, & 20s WRU Regional Championships Matches 2005-2006 are below.

Last season Blues under-18s and under-16s North both had difficult inaugural campaigns in a championship which proved highly competitive.

The Under-20s faired better winning four out of six games, but the Blues South Under-16s made it all the way to the showpiece final at the Millennium Stadium. Unfortuantely it was Llanelli Scarlets who triumphed 19-5 and received the trophy from competition ambassador Rob Howley.

Under-16 Fixtures
U16 Saturday 3/9/05 (1)
Dragons v Scarlets at Newbridge RFC, ko 11.00am
Blues Sth v Ospreys at Llanrumney Playing Fields, ko 11.00am

U16 Saturday 17/9/05 (2)
Blues Sth v Scarlets at Llanrumney Playing Fields, ko 11.00am
Ospreys v Blues Nth at Corus RFC, ko 11.00am

U16 Saturday 1/10/05 (3)
Dragons v Ospreys at Newbridge RFC, ko 11.00am
Blues Nth v Blues Sth at Brecon RFC, ko 11.00am

U16 Wednesday 19/10/05 (4)
Blues Sth v Dragons at Rumney RFC, ko 7.15pm
Scarlets v Blues Nth at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm

U16 Wednesday 23/11/05 (5)
Blues Nth v Dragons at Treorchy RFC , ko 7.15pm
Ospreys v Scarlets at Corus RFC, ko 7.15pm

U16 Wednesday 18/1/06 (6)
Scarlets v Dragons at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm
Ospreys v Blues Sth at Corus RFC, ko 7.15pm

Under 16 Wednesday 22/2/06 (7)
Scarlets v Blues Sth at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm
Blues Nth v Ospreys at Abercynon RFC, ko 7.15pm

Under 16 Wednesday 8/3/06 (8)
Ospreys v Dragons at Corus RFC , ko 7.15pm
Blues Sth v Blues Nth at Cardiff Arms Park, ko 7.15pm

Under 16 Wednesday 29/3/06 (9)
Dragons v Blues Sth at Pontypool RFC, ko 7.15pm
Blues Nth v Scarlets at Aberdare RFC, ko 7.15pm

Under 16 Wednesday 12/4/06 (10)
Dragons v Blues Nth at Pontypool RFC, ko 7.15pm
Scarlets v Ospreys at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm

Under 16 Finals Saturday 29/4/06 (TBC) Millennium Stadium, Cardiff

Under-18 Fixtures
U18 Sunday 4/9/05 (1)
Ospreys v Scarlets at Aberavon RFC, ko 12.00 midday
Blues v Dragons at Pontypridd RFC, ko 12.00 midday

U18 Sunday 18/9/05 (2)
Scarlets v Blues at Stradey Pk, ko 12.00 midday
Dragons v Ospreys at Caerphilly RFC, ko 12.00 midday

U18 Sunday 2/10/05 (3)
Blues v Ospreys at Pontypridd RFC, ko 12.00 midday
Dragons v Scarlets at Caerphilly RFC, ko 12.00 midday

U18 Wednesday 26/10/05 (4)
Scarlets v Ospreys at Stradey Park, ko 7.15pm
Dragons v Blues at Caerphilly RFC, ko 7.15pm

U18 Wednesday 9/11/05 (5)
Blues v Scarlets at Pontypridd RFC, ko 7.15pm
Ospreys v Dragons at Aberavon RFC, ko 7.15pm

U18 Wednesday 7/12/05 (6)
Ospreys v Blues at Aberavon RFC, ko 7.15pm
Scarlets v Dragons at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm

U18 Friday 30/12/05 Final - Venue TBC

Under 18 Wednesday 8/2/06 (RD1)

Under 18 Wednesday 15/3/06 (RD2)

Under 18 Wednesday 5/4/06 (RD3)

Under-20 Fixtures
U20 Wednesday 28/9/05 (1)
Scarlets v Ospreys at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm
Dragons v Blues at Abertillery RFC, ko 7.15pm

U20 Wednesday 2/11/05 (2)
Blues v Scarlets at Pontypridd RFC, ko 7.15pm
Ospreys v Dragons at Maesteg RFC, ko 7.15pm

U20 Wednesday 30/11/05 (3)
Ospreys v Blues at Maesteg RFC, ko 7.15pm
Scarlets v Dragons at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm

U20 Wednesday 11/1/06 (4)
Ospreys v Scarlets at Maesteg RFC, ko 7.15pm
Blues v Dragons at Pontypridd RFC, ko 7.15pm

U20 Wednesday 25/1/06 (5)
Scarlets v Blues at Stradey Pk, ko 7.15pm
Dragons v Ospreys at Abertillery RFC, ko 7.15pm

Under 20 Wednesday 22/3/06 (6)
Blues v Ospreys at Cardiff Arms Park, ko 7.15pm
Dragons v Scarlets at Abertillery RFC, ko 7.15pm

Under U20 Finals Saturday 29/4/06 (TBC) Millennium Stadium, Cardiff

For more information visit the WRU website: www.wru.co.uk

Contacts details for Blues Teams
Mr Gafyn Cooper, Tele- 01443 841674; mob- 07740 612796; email- gafyn.cooper@cardiffblues.com