Blog Banner

Team To Play Opening Celtic League Game Announced

31st August 2005

Director of Coaching David Young has chosen a team showing five changes for the opening game of the season against Connacht on Saturday 3rd September (ko 2.30pm).

Wales internationals Nick Robinson, John Yapp and Robert Sidoli come into the team and Nick Macleod returns to Full Back.

Last Friday despite dominating play in the second half Cardiff Blues narrowly lost to Guinness Premiership team Bristol, in what proved to be a good run out for a number of players.

This Saturday, new recruits Andy Powell and Mike Phillips will make their competitive debuts for the team at Galway Sportsground, having both featured against Bristol.

Backs: Nick Macleod, Chris Czekaj, Rhys Williams (C), Tristan Davies, Craig Morgan, Nicky Robinson, Mike Phillips
Forwards: John Yapp, Gareth Williams, Martin Jones, Deiniol Jones, Robert Sidoli, Maama Molitika, Andy Powell, Robin Sowden-Taylor

Ryan Powell, Lee Thomas, Matthew Nuthall, Ben Evans, Rhys Thomas, Craig Quinnell, Mark Lewis

The Blues will be looking to get off to a winning start in their Celtic League campaign and maintain their winning habit against Connacht. Cardiff Blues have won both home and away matches against Connacht in the last two seasons.

2004/5 Results
Cardiff Blues 31- Connacht 6
Connacht 8- Cardiff Blues 18

2003/4 Results
Cardiff Blues 33 – Connacht 17
Connacht 18 – Cardiff Blues 21

To read match reports from these games and select the appropriate fixtures.

To check Statistics against Connacht