Blog Banner

Richie Rees wins Welsh squad call up

18th January 2010

Thirteen Cardiff Blues players included in 6 Nations squad

Thirteen Cardiff Blues players included in 6 Nations squad

Call ups for Richie Rees and Gareth Williams means thirteen Blues players are in Warren Gatlands 2010 RBS 6 Nations squad.

Both Blues scrum halves have been included as Dwayne Peel misses out because of a groin injury picked up in the match at Cardiff City Stadium on Saturday. Rees is one of four uncapped players in the 35 man squad.

Wales' larger squad is the first step in preparations for next year's Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland underlined the importance of the larger squad ahead of the RWC.

"We are now at the beginning of our countdown to the world cup and this slightly larger squad reflects that,"

"We have brought in some youngsters to put some pressure on some of our senior players and to help increase the depth we have in certain positions.

"Kristian is a good example of an exciting young player, he has just won the Principality player of the month award and scored five tries in one match for Neath, he is skilfull and very quick.

"Elsewhere we are very happy to welcome back the likes of Adam (Jones) and Lee (Byrne) who were both obviously missed in the Autumn, although at full-back in particular a certain James Hook provided more than ample cover.

"Our first match at Twickenham could set the tone for the Championship for both sides, we will both be desperate to win that first up match.

"We then come to the Millennium Stadium for two home matches and the support we have there will make a huge difference to us."


Wales' 35-man Six Nations squad:

Backs: Gareth Cooper, Leigh Halfpenny, Tom James, Richard Rees, Jamie Roberts, Tom Shanklin (all Cardiff Blues) Dan Biggar, Andrew Bishop, Lee Byrne, James Hook, Kristian Phillips, Tom Prydie, Shane Williams (all Ospreys), Jonathan Davies, Stephen Jones, Martin Roberts (all Llanelli Scarlets)

Forwards: Bradley Davies, Gethin Jenkins, Deiniol Jones, Andy Powell, Sam Warburton, Gareth Williams, Martyn Williams (all Cardiff Blues), Huw Bennett, Ian Gough, Paul James, Adam Jones, Alun Wyn Jones, Ryan Jones, Jonathan Thomas (all Ospreys), Matthew Rees, (Llanelli Scarlets), Luke Charteris, Dan Lydiate (both Dragons, Eifion Lewis-Roberts (Sale Sharks), Rhys Gill (Saracens)