Blog Banner

Lewis and Amos drafted into Wales starting line-up

International | 11th October 2019

Dillon Lewis and Hallam Amos have been drafted into Wales' starting line-up as Warren Gatland makes 13 changes for the final Rugby World Cup Pool D clash against Uruguay on Sunday (KO 9.15am).

Amos switched to Wales' Capital Region from Dragons over the summer and is set for his first involvement in this year's tournament.

The utility back, who lines up on the wing in Kumamoto, made two appearances during the 2015 Rugby World Cup, including a start in the famous win over England at Twickenham.

Meanwhile Lewis has come off the bench in all three games to date, as Wales have maintained a 100 per cent record in the pool stages with victories over Georgia, Australia and Fiji.

Following a stunning hat-trick against Fiji last time out, Cardiff Blues' Josh Adams is one of two players to retain their starting spots for the encounter, with centre Hadleigh Parkes also remaining in the XV.

Adams lines up with new regional team-mate, Amos, and Cardiff Blues academy product, Leigh Halfpenny, in the back three.

The side is led by Justin Tipuric, who captains his country for the first time, while a further three graduates from the Cardiff Blues academy feature in the matchday squad in the form of outside half Rhys Patchell, lock Bradley Davies and replacement prop, Rhys Carré.

Scrum half, Tomos Williams, is named as one of two backs on the bench, having featured as a replacement in all pool stages encounters. 

Josh Navidi, who has been one of Wales' stand-out players in the tournament, is rested.


1. Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (33 Caps)
2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (8 Caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (18 Caps)
4. Bradley Davies (Ospreys) (65 Caps)
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys) (16 Caps)
6. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (23 Caps)
7. Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (68 Caps) (Capt)
8. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (15 Caps)
9. Aled Davies (Ospreys) (19 Caps)
10. Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) (16 Caps)
11. Hallam Amos (Cardiff Blues) (20 Caps)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) (21 Caps)
13. Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (18 Caps)
14. Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) (17 Caps)
15. Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (83 Caps)


16. Elliot Dee (Dragons) (25 Caps)
17. Rhys Carre (Saracens) (2 Caps)
18. Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (18 Caps)
19. Jake Ball (Scarlets) (39 Caps)
20. Ross Moriarty (Dragons) (37 Caps)
21. James Davies (Scarlets) (6 Caps)
22. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (12 Caps)
23. Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (47 Caps)‚Äč