Blog Banner

Lee-Lo to take on the Wallabies

Blues News | 5th September 2019

Rey Lee-Lo has retained the number 12 jersey as Samoa travel to Parramatta to take on Australia in their final warm-up clash before the Rugby World Cup in Japan.

It's been a memorable week for the Cardiff Blues star, who crossed the whitewash against a New Zealand Heartlands XV last weekend before being named in Samoa's final 31-man squad for the global showpiece.

It will be the centre's second World Cup campaign with Manu Samoa, having also featured in 2015 where he scored a try against Scotland.

Lee-Lo has featured heavily for his national side during the summer, and will make his fifth start of the warm-ups, with one appearance as a replacement also under his belt.

He is joined in the starting line-up by former Cardiff Blues lock, Teofilo Paulo, while Tim Nanai Williams, brother of Cardiff Blues talisman, Nick Williams, is handed the number 15 jersey.

Australia, who will be amongst Wales' pool stage opponents in Japan, have included some experienced stars in their side, including Will Genia, Adam Ashley-Cooper and Bernard Foley while captain David Pocock makes a long-awaited return the Wallabies' starting XV, having been out of international action for over a year.

Samoa kick start their World Cup campaign against Russia on Tuesday, 23 September, while Australia will take on Fiji on Saturday 21 September.

Samoa: Tim Nanai Williams; Belgium Tuatagaloa, Alapati Leiua, Rey Lee-Lo, Ed Fidow; Tusi Pisi, Scott Malolua; Jordan Lay, Ray Niuia, Michael Alaalatoa, Teofilo Paulo, Kane Leaupepe, TJ Ioane, Jack Lam (capt), Afaesetiti Amosa

Replacements: Motu Matu'u, Paulo Alo-Emile, Logovii Mulipola, Josh Tyrell, Seilala Lam, Dwayne Polataivao, AJ Alatimu, Ah See Tuala

Australia: Tom Banks; Dane Haylett-Petty, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Matt To'omua, Marika Koroibete; Bernard Foley, Will Genia; James Slipper, Jordan Uelese, Sekope Kepu, Rob Simmons, Adam Coleman, Lukham Salakaia-Loto, David Pocock (capt), Jack Dempsey

Replacements: Tatafu Polota-Nau, Scott Sio, Taniela Tupou, Luke Jones, Liam Wright, Rob Valentini, Nick Phipps, James O'Connor