At a recent game, Team A was awarded a line-out about 20 metres out. They tried to throw to the front of the line but Team B hooker stuck a hand out and knocked the ball backwards. The ball had only travelled two metres. A number of players stopped but Team A second row picked up the loose ball and grounded it. The referee awarded a try saying he was playing advantage.
Was the ref correct?
Law "8.3 WHEN THE ADVANTAGE LAW IS NOT APPLIED" stated when advantage is not played: (a) Referee contact (b) Ball out of tunnel (c) Wheeled scrum (d) Collapsed scrum (e) Player lifted in the air
So, yes the ref was right to play advantage (and a pretty good one seeing as the player scored!)
I'll look at the second issue next time!
Any questions or comments can be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org