Contact the Team

The Official website of

Cardiff Blues

Contact the Community Team

Contact the Community Team

Name Role Email Phone
Chris Ower WRU Rugby Development Manager - Cardiff Blues Region Cower@wru.co.uk 07827351717
Carl Scales Player Development Officer - South Powys cscales@wru.co.uk 07798588970
Duane Goodfield Player Development Officer - Cardiff Blues Region
Mal Jones WRU Player Development Officer - Pontypridd Malcolm.jones@rhondda-cynon-taff.gov.uk 07584488247
Liam Scott WRU Participation Officer - Cynon Taff & Pontypridd Lscott@wru.co.uk 07584488285
Ben Daniels Participation Officer - Rhondda & Merthyr rhonddaben@aol.com 07886396973
Gavin Williams Participation Officer - Cardiff GMWilliams@wru.co.uk 07584488272
Stuart Clarke Participation Officer
Joe Davies Player Development Officer - Cardiff jdavies@wru.co.uk 07824691001
Christian Hitt WRU Player Development Officer - Vale of Glamorgan chitt@wru.co.uk 07752668177
Chris Jones Valley Kids Rugby Development Officer chrisjonesrhonddaschools@gmail.com 07727280981
Jon Evans WRU Coach Development Officer jevans@wru.co.uk 07584488306

Get in Touch

Rugby Development

WRU Rugby Development Department- Cardiff Blues Region

Cardiff Athletics Stadium

Leckwith Road

Cardiff

CF11 8AZ

There have been some big changes to the rugby development programme, here is a brief outline of their duties.

Player Participation Officers

Set up and run Leisure Rugby and Commercial programmes such as WRU Little Stars, WRU Junior Stars Rugby Camps. The Participation Officers run alternative game programmes such as yr 7 and 8 Secondary Schools Atomic Touch Programme, Touch Leagues, that are hybrid formats of the game that re-engage people back into rugby and a social setting. The Officers also run Community engagement schemes via the WRU Street Stars and Cage Rugby activity programmes. The fundamental role of the PO is to increase the participation and new children experiencing the game via 3 week fundamental sessions at yrs 5&6 and cluster festivals opportunities for Primary Schools.

Player Development Officers

The core roles of the Player Development Officer is to increase Club membership via assisting clubs to maximise their current numbers via the Max the Mini's, Join the Beat and Club Development Plan initiatives. Increase Junior and Adult Club membership for women's and girl's rugby via setting up and running Development Centres, running development sessions at Universities, Colleges, running of Regional U18's and Regional Senior Women's Blues representative squads. The Player Development Officers also tun programmes such as Secondary Schools Festivals at year 7, 8 and 9, deliver 4 week Skills based programmes in 80% of their area Secondary Schools, run 2 Club festivals at U12/13, 1 Club Festival at U14. Officers run Talent Identification programmes for U14's via a 10 Week Skill Development Centres. They are Lead Officers with the U15's Dewar Shield Representative Schools Programme and U16's Regional Development Programme.